East Stroudsburg Normal School opened its doors on September 4, 1893. A faculty of 15 greeted a group of 320 students who had entered the two-year programs in elementary and science education. Although the Normal School was originally privately owned, ownership was transferred to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania in 1920, and the name was changed to East Stroudsburg State Normal School.

In 1927, the right to confer the degrees of Bachelor of Science in education and Bachelor of Science in health education was granted, and the school's name then became the State Teachers College at East Stroudsburg. In 1960, the college's name was changed to East Stroudsburg State College. In 1962, the college received the right to confer graduate degrees, and the first three graduate areas were Master of Education in biological sciences, general science, and health and physical education. In 1963, the college instituted a Bachelor of Arts degree, and in 1969, the first Master of Arts programs, in history and political science, were approved. In November 1982, the State System of Higher Education was authorized by Senate Bill 506. The college officially became East Stroudsburg University on July 1, 1983.


ESU operates under the leadership of an institutional president who reports directly to the Chancellor of the State System. The Chancellor reports to the Board of Governors (BOG). ESU is governed by a Council of Trustees, consisting of 11 members appointed by the Governor, including one undergraduate student. At least two members of the Council of Trustees are alumni of the institution. Among their many duties, the trustees are responsible for making recommendations to the chancellor for the appointment and dismissal of the president and to approve the university budget, new academic programs, contracts and fees other than tuition.

University Leadership

Marcia G. Welsh, Ph.D. was appointed as the 13th president of ESU in April 2012 by the Board of Governors for the State System and assumed her role as the first female president of ESU in July 2012.

Dr. Welsh pursued both administrative and academic career paths prior to her presidency at ESU. She began her academic career in 1978 as an assistant professor in the department of anatomy at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine. She remained at USC for 23 years, rising through the ranks to professor and also serving as chair of the faculty senate and acting chair of her department before being named associate provost and dean of the graduate school. Later in her career, she was named senior vice president for academic affairs and provost of Adelphi University, a position she held for seven years. Dr. Welsh then became provost of Towson University in 2009, and also served as interim president of the university during 2011.

Joanne Zakartha Bruno, J.D., was named provost and vice president of academic affairs in March 2015. Ms. Bruno comes to ESU after working in the office of academic affairs at New Jersey City University for close to 20 years, including nine years as the vice president for academic affairs and most recently, vice president of academic initiatives and services.

Kenneth Long was appointed vice president of administration and finance in July 2013. Prior to his arrival at ESU, Mr. Long served as assistant vice president for administration and finance at Kutztown University. He also served as interim vice president for finance and administration at Cheney University for six months in 2012.

Mary Frances Postupack was appointed vice president of economic development and research support in 2007. She manages the ESU division of Research and Economic Development (RED) which includes an award-winning Business Accelerator Program, the Office of Workforce Development, Entrepreneurial Leadership Center, Office of Sponsored Projects and Research, Schisler Museum & McMunn Planetarium and University Advancement. She has more than 25 years of experience in the areas of education, business, and community and economic development.


  • College of Arts and Sciences
    Dean Andra Basu, Ph.D.
  • College of Business and Management
    Dean Sylvester Williams, J.D.
  • College of Education
    Dean Terry Barry, Ed.D.
  • College of Health Sciences
    Dean Denise Seigart, Ph.D.
  • Graduate and Extended Studies
    William Bajor, Ph.D.


ESU offers select programs (geared towards adult transfer and graduate students) at additional locations including its Lehigh Valley Center, and Northampton Community College. Programs at additional locations are typically offered in accelerated, flexible, year-round formats to meet the needs of working adults pursing undergraduate and graduate degrees.

Contact Us

For more information about OIEPA, please contact Rob Smith.

Contact Information

Campus Address
Hoeffner Science & Technology Center 236
(570) 422-3080
Title of Department Leader
Assistant Vice President Institutional Effectiveness, Planning, and Assessment
Robert Smith, Ed.D.