The Political Science curriculum comprises the systematic study of the theory and practice of politics at various levels – domestic, foreign, and international.

Depending on their interests, undergraduates can focus on questions of a theoretical nature, the role and performance of political institutions and political systems, or the behavior of individuals and groups.

Our Political Science degree prepares students to work in both the public and private sectors.

Many majors also use this preparation as a basis for further study in graduate school or law school.

Students may choose between four concentrations:

  • The American Government and Politics is the traditional liberal arts political science major and is useful for preparing student to run for political office or to work for an elected official, or to work in campaigns and elections.
  • The Public Administration concentration is a pre-professional track which prepares students for public service in local, state, or federal government.
  • The International Relations and Comparative Government concentration prepares a student to work in international organizations (governmental, private, and non-profit).
  • The Pre-Law concentration prepares a student to successfully enter and complete law school.

Students must also be aware of the University-wide requirements

The department does not accept transfer credit in upper division coursework (i.e., 300 or 400 level courses) for political science courses completed at community colleges, junior colleges, trade schools, etc.

Note: Students majoring in Political Science may not accumulate more than 15 credit hours, total, of internship credit toward graduation.

Contact Us

Please contact the department of Political Science and Economics with any questions.

Contact Information

Campus Address
Stroud Hall
(570) 422-3286
(570) 422-3937 (Fax)
Title of Department Leader
Department Chair
Samuel Quainoo
(570) 422-3275