# East Stroudsburg University Diversity and Inclusion Committee Minutes – November 3, 2021

**Present:** Lorraine Arocho, William Bajor, Nurun Begum, Tanya Carmella-Beers, TJ Demirciftci, Caroline DiPipi-Hoy, Dylan Doran, Faith Dorsey, Ly Fleming, Stephanie French, Shannon Frystak, Aida Garcia Cole, Stacey Grant, Storm Heter, Selena Hines, Esosa Irowen, Laura Kieselbach, Josie Kraemer, Eric Lee, Monica Manchester, Jevon Mitchell, Nicole Rogai, Dorian Royal, Jessica Santiago, Sandy Shaika, Jennie Smith, Lauren Stemler, Shade Stokes-Campbell, Jimmy Terwilliger, Ariel Tucci, Artress White, Sylvester Williams, Samantha Williams, Web Xu, Debbie Zapatier

**Absent:** Jason Engerman, Elizabeth Hall, Stacey Hoyt, Angela Pender, Kim Roselli, Marla Simmons

### Welcome and Updates

- Introductions welcome back returning members and welcome new members.
- Thank you to Dr. Cornelia Sewell-Allen for her tremendous work and contributions.
- Chief Diversity Officer position is expected to be posted in the next couple months, and the search is expected to take place in spring 2022.
- Time, Place, and Manner policy rationale for policy. Continued conversations will take place to operationalize the policy.

## **Community Check-In**

- Plan Moving Forward monthly meetings (first Wednesday of the month from 3:00 4:30 p.m.) in December, February, March, April, May, and two summer meetings.
- Initiatives and Priorities please inform Bill and Santiago of any new/additional time sensitive matters we should be prioritizing to tackle this academic year.
- Workshop and Training proposals please submit workshop and training proposals to Selena Hines, Campus Life & Inclusive Excellence.
- Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity publication Christina McDonald, Office
  of Sponsored Projects & Research, provided overview of publication. DEI will be the
  theme for the 2023 publication. A new subcommittee will be formed to work with
  Christina from January through December 2022.

#### **Subcommittee Reports**

- Access and Equity we need to identify two co-chairs. Storm Heater's term has ended and he will be on sabbatical for spring 2022. Liz Hall has stepped down until further notice. We also need to identify additional members (current members: Stacy Grant, Jason Engerman, Kim Roselli, and Aida Garcia-Cole).
  - o Storm provided updates on:
    - **Diverse Faculty Mentoring Program, Pilot** (2020 2021). This was explicitly a pilot program, and it ended in the Spring 2021. There has been no discussion or vote on renewing the program in the future. Program was highly successful, but required a huge investment of volunteer labor.

- Faculty and Staff Anti-Bias Training Program. This program took two years to create and was implemented successfully in Spring 2021, and has continued into Fall 2021. The most recent action was the meeting with Dr. Solis and Dr. Yvonne Catino, Director of Human Resources, in which it was decided that future trainings would be run by Human Resources, with input from the D&I Committee.
- **Diverse Staff Mentoring Program.** This program was proposed in the beginning of Spring 2021, a sub-group was created, and that team began gathering data. Momentum for this program came to a stop when President Long met with Dr. Sewell-Allen and suggested that the program was not ready to move forward due to concerns that gathering about staff needs was not necessary or productive.
- Diversifying Curriculum we need to identify a second co-chair to work with Laura Kieselbach. We also need to identify additional members (current members: Stephanie French, Artress White, Shannon Frystak, Faith Dorsey (student), and Jessica Santiago
  - o Laura provided updates on:
    - First DEI Certification was distributed at the All University Meeting on Tuesday, November 2.
    - Laura will be conducting an audit to see who is still interested.
    - If you signed up for Spring 2021, you will wrap up in Spring (March)
       2022
    - If you signed up for Spring 2021 but have not made any progress, you can "unenroll" and sign up again when the timing is better for you.
    - If you signed up for Fall 2021 and have not heard from us, it is because we did not have access to the machform. Now that we do, and given that it is November, we kindly encourage you to consider a new timeline, start in Spring of 2022 or move to the Fall of 2022.
    - We will no longer run fall and spring cohorts after this academic year. Instead, we will utilize the fall option only, beginning in Fall of 2022.
- Campus Climate Co-Chairs Selena Hines and Ly Fleming. We need to identify additional members (current members: Sandy Shaika, Dorian Royal, Jevon Mitchell (student), Shadé Stokes-Campbell (student), and Eric Lee
  - The subcommittee will discuss posting DEI signs across campus (e.g., BLM signs and anti-hate signs).

#### **Two New Subcommittees**

- Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity Subcommittee Jennie Smith has agreed to Co-Chair and we need the second Co-Chair. Interested members include Tracy Carmella-Beers, Caroline DiPipi-Hoy, and Ariel Tucci, we need additional members. This subcommittee will work with Christina McDonald from January through December 2022.
- Communication & Social Media Subcommittee we need to identify co-chairs and members.

# **Open Discussion**

• Did not have time for open discussion

# **Next Steps**

• Everyone is expected to join a subcommittee. Please email Bill Bajor and Santiago Solis by Friday, November 12, which subcommittee you would like to join.

# **Future Meetings**

- Monthly meetings occur on the first Wednesday of the month from 3:00 4:30 p.m.:
  - o December 1, 2021
  - o February 2, 2022
  - o March 2, 2022
  - o April 6, 2022
  - o May 4, 2022
  - o Two summer meetings TBA