CMS Login

Faculty

Image Caption

A faculty with doctorate degrees from outstanding universities create a sense of community and set a standard or excellence in the Early Childhood and Elementary Education Department.

The five, full-time faculty members participate in state, national and international professional associations as well as being leaders in ESU teacher education initiatives including the Urban Learning Academy and Professional Development Schools.

Our diverse and expert faculty focuses on student success.

Alberto Alegre aalegre@esu.edu (570) 422-3859
Associate Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.S., 1980, University of Barcelona
B.S., 1985, University of Barcelona
M.S., 1991, University of Barcelona
M.A., 2002, Goddard College
Ed.D., 20008, Virginia Tech
Office: 209B
Research Interests: Social Emotional Intelligence and Leadership, Early Childhood math

Nurun Begum nbegum@esu.edu (570) 422-3371
Assistant Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.Ed., 1997, University of Dhaka
M.Ed., 1999, University of Dhaka
M.A., 2004, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Ed.D., 2007, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Office: 209M

Susan Harlan sharlan@esu.edu (570) 422-3044
Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.A., 1972, Millersville University of Pennsylvania
M.S., 1981, Marywood College
Ph.D., 1996, Rutgers University
Office: 209B
Research Interests: Early intervention, preschool curriculum

Alison Rutter arutter@esu.edu (570) 422-3360
Associate Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.A., 1978, Vassar College
M.A., 1994, Teachers College, Columbia University
M.Ed., 1999, Teachers College, Columbia University
Ed.D., 1999, Teachers College, Columbia University
Office: 209C
Research Interests: Professional development school history and philosophy, teacher leadership, elementary science inquiry

Andrew Whitehead awhitehead@esu.edu (570) 422-3356
Department Chair, Associate Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.A., 1986, Pennsylvania State University
M.A., 1993, Marywood University
M.S., 1996, Marywood University
Ph.D., 2002, Marywood University
Office: 209A

Craig Wilson cwilson@esu.edu (570) 422-3357
Professor of Early Childhood and Elementary Education
B.S., 1971, Baptist Bible College
M.A., 1982, University of Toledo
Ph.D., 1988, University of Toledo
Office: 209E