CMS Login

Department News

Image Caption

Dr. Constantinos Christofides was awarded East Stroudsburg University's highest honor, the Distinguished Professor Award, for his excellence in teaching business management and economics for over 35 years.

Dr. Christofides served as the elected chair of the Department of Business Management and Economics from 2005 to 2008. He currently is a faculty member in the Department of Economics, and is a member of the American Economic Association, the National Association for Business Economics, and the Association of University Business and Economic Research. He helped form the Department of Economics in 1973. He also helped develop and implement the business management concentration that has now become the very popular Business Management major at ESU.

In seeking to create initiatives for his students, Dr. Christofides established ESU Alpha Xi Chapter of Omicron Delta Epsilon, the International Honor Society in Economics at ESU. Since its inception nearly 400 students have been inducted into ODE. He also formed the Economics club and has been a club advisor since its inception. In 1979 he founded the E-News, the Economics Department student newsletter. The E-News allows students the opportunity to learn and use their basic research skills and to write on business and economics topics. It is published semi-annually and is well read both on and off campus.

Dr. Seewoonundun Bunjun, retired Professor of Economics. He was the keynote speaker at the ESU graduate commencement ceremony held on Friday, April 8, 2011. He also served as grand marshal for both the undergraduate commencement and the graduate commencement ceremonies.

Bunjun joined the ESU faculty in 1979, teaching Microeconomics, Intermediate Microeconomics, Contemporary Economics Issues, Economic Growth and Development and Financial Management. He was also one of the founding members of the Business Economic Research Group (BERG) at ESU.

He is perhaps most well known for his tireless service to ESU and its students, especially the DESI student organization. The DESI student organization consists of students from many countries, including India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. Dr. Bunjun will continue to serve, particularly in helping organize the annual Diwali Festival of Lights celebration.

Both Dr. Bunjun (2010) and Dr. Christofides (2009) have been recipients of the ESU great teacher award. The award is presented to a teacher who has demonstrated superior teaching ability and extraordinary commitment to students.

Dr. Mamadou Kane, another retired ESU economics professor, served as grand marshal for the 2009 spring undergraduate and graduate commencement exercises.

Professor Kane joined the then combined departments of Political Science and Economics in 1972. For the subsequent 36 years he taught introductory macroeconomics and microeconomics, international trade, international finance, history of economic thought and economic growth and development.

Professor Kane worked with the admissions office during his career at ESU, helping to bring international students from Africa, viz. Senegal and Gambia to ESU. Several excellent students were among those who came to ESU, including Noah Samara, who would eventually become the founder of XM Satellite Radio.

Even though he is now retired, Professor Kane remains actively involved in helping international students adjust to ESU, finding housing and part-time work. He also served as advisor to the African Students Organization and the International Students Association. Dr. Kane remains an advisor to the Moslem Students Association and is a frequent guest lecturer on topics of Islamic and African cultures and on Islam and tolerance. We are pleased that he intends to continue his service to the ESU community even after retirement.