2014 Call for Nominations

Distinguished Career Award in Water Resources


The Water Resources Specialty Group of the Association of American Geographers seeks to honor senior scholars for sustained and effective research contributions in water resources science, planning, and policy.  This honor is to be bestowed no more than once each year based on a protracted record of published research and other accomplishments.  A call for nominations will be solicited each year in the AAG Newsletter, the WRSG newsletter, on the WRSG website, and other venues.  Nominations will be judged by the WRSG Awards Committee consisting of three Water Resources Specialty Group members.   The award will be made at the annual WRSG business meeting or an appropriate special session at the national AAG meeting.

Eligibility.   The recipient of this honor need not be a member of the Association of American Geographers or identify themselves specifically as a geographer, but their research must be deemed of great importance and relevance to geographers.  Furthermore, this research must be largely concerned with or applicable to Water Resources in the broad sense of that term.  The research may extend over a period of several decades but should also include evidence of active scholarship in the past ten years.

Nominations.  Nominations should include a statement detailing why this individual’s career is worthy of distinction in the field of water resources.  The statement should outline the nominee’s career achievements, and may provide a portrait of their personality, methods, personal history, and other biographical information.  Career achievements may include publications, professional posts held, influence on government and policy, students mentored, and other measures of an effective career in water resources.  In addition, a bibliography of relevant publications should be included.  To be competitive, a successful nomination should include at least three letters of support from other professionals in the field that may be submitted separately.  Nominations that are not successful in the year that they are submitted may be retained by the Awards Committee for consideration in the following year, after which time they will be considered inactive.  The Awards Committee would prefer to receive nominations by
Feb. 1, 2013 to allow time for evaluation.  Materials may be submitted via mail or email (preferred) to the address below.

Award.   There is no cash prize, but a Water Resources Distinguished Career engraved plaque will be awarded from the WRSG and recognition will be published in the AAG Newsletter.  The nominators will be asked to present their statements at the annual WRSG business meeting or a special session organized for this purpose, and the recipient will be invited to attend and speak upon receipt of the award at the WRSG business meeting or a special session.  Both the nomination and acceptance statements will be printed in the WRSG Newsletter and the WRSG web site.

Checklist for Nominations:
   Statement of effectiveness in the field of Water Resources with biographical outline
   Bibliography of nominee’s relevant publications
   At least three letters of support

Send all materials to:

Dr. Woonsup Choi,
Chair of the WRSG Award Committee
Department of Geography
University of Wisconsin_Milwaukee
P.O.Box 413
Office: (414) 229-2671

Email: wchoi@alumni.illinois.edu


Updated November, 2012


back to WRSG Main Page